Let It Go

Finally updating the blog again instead of doing my homework and also eating soup. Hahaha random but yeah now you know exactly what I’m doing^^

So after seeing Frozen this song stood out as the best in the entire movie.

Everyone in the youtaite community had been covering this song so I jumped on the bandwagon and followed suit.

Idina Menzel being the amazing beltress that she is , made this song so passionate but so difficult to emulate.
The song starts out so low and ends so high.

I originally began singing this quite lower and sounded quite boy like and i didn’t really like that because it didn’t quite fit the character so I started using a lighter , higher tone. With the lower tone I hit the low notes better and was able to achieve a bit more emotion but the transitions to high notes was really hard and sounded very unnatural.
Singing higher made the high notes easier and the transition better but my character/emotion sounded flat because I was focusing so hard keeping the character voice.

Needless to say , this song was so hard. I had done at least 50 takes for this , no kidding. For some reason some parts would perfect in a take but the rest would not be so good.

Eventually I had sung this song enough I found a happy medium between the high and low and managed ti get some decent takes. I am also very sure no one in my house wants to hear me sing this song ever again.

So my friend 4@4 mixed this for as a favour I had asked of him. He did a great job making this sound so professional and I’m sure his ears died from listening to me belt so much.

I just want to point that for someone who doesn’t really know to belt , I did a pretty good job. All that time spent listening to Broadway music finally paid off XD

As far as acting goes , I tried to picture myself in Elsa’s (the character who sings this song) shoes. In a way I sort of understand this song this song as well. I can relate to it on a certain level. I mean we all have insecurities and this motivates you to open up and “let it go”.

Also I rewatched the sequence for this song so many times , because the animation is so pretty!

Hearing myself singing these songs just reminds me of how much I do not have a classically pretty princess type of singing voice. I tend to sound tomboyish and I like my voice it makes me unique but it also makes me wonder what would my covers sound like if i had a different tone.

So enough rambling , enjoy the song , I will keep making stuff and letting you guys hear it , I got some really good stuff coming and I hope you like it! Also I’m almost at 2oo subs on youtube what should I do to make it special?

Oh yeah and singing this song so much made me a little crazy so this happened.

https://soundcloud.com/annamibananami/let-it-go-opera-version

Video

Leave a Reply

